Kentucky Community Team Scholarships: 2011 Brushy Fork Annual Institute

Kentucky Community Team Scholarships are available again this year for the 2011 Brushy Fork Annual Institute.  Community teams from economically distressed 2010 ARC counties will be eligible to receive scholarships.  These scholarships are made possible through funding from the Appalachia Regional Commission.

Under this scholarship program, the first three team members pay only $250 each. Any additional team members pay $100 each. Lodging will be reimbursed at 50 percent of actual upon submission of receipts, up to a maximum of $500 per team.

Scholarship applications will be reviewed as they are received and applicants will be notified as soon as possible. Because a limited amount of scholarship funding is available, any applications received once the scholarship funds are all committed will be placed on a waiting list in the event of cancelations.

Scholarship Criteria

  • The community must be classified as an economically distressed Kentucky county.  These counties are:  Adair, Bath, Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Robertson, Rockcastle, Russell, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.
  • A community team must have at least 3 members.
  • Team members must be residents of the distressed county.
  • Teams must be committed to working toward community improvement.
  • No more than 50 percent of the team members can be part of the same organization.

Please see the scholarship form for more information:

If you have any questions regarding your team contact Jane Higgins at 859-985-3858 or

Return application and registration forms to:

Brushy Fork Institute

CPO 2164

Berea College

Berea, KY  40404


Fax: 859-985-3903

Kristin Tracz

About Kristin Tracz

Kristin Tracz served MACED’s Research and Policy team from 2009-2012 working on clean energy policy, energy efficiency programs and the Appalachian Transition Initiative. She joined MACED after finishing her Master of Environmental Management degree at the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies. She now lives and works in Washington, DC.